Book review-A sisters shame, by Maggie Hartley

I just finished reading A sisters shame, by Maggie hartley.
It was one of her best books, in my opinion.

A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Sunday Times best-selling author Maggie Hartley, Britain’s most-loved foster carer. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson.

Foster carer Maggie Hartley is used to all manner of children arriving on her doorstep, but nothing can prepare her for sisters Billy and Bo when they arrive at her home. It is clear from the moment she sets eyes on them that four-year-old Bo and seven-year-old Billy have clearly been subjected to unimaginable neglect, and it takes all of Maggie’s skills as a foster carer to try to connect with the volatile little girls, who seem far younger than their years.

Over time, the little girls slowly emerge from their shells, and Maggie begins the difficult task of trying to gain their trust. But as time goes on, it becomes clear that there is something much darker going on, something that will call into question everything Maggie has ever learned in all her years as a foster carer….

I did love this book, but I must warn you it is very disturbing and shocking. There are dark themes throughout the book. It includes themes of child obesity, sexual abuse, incest, and other forms of neglect. Its relatively short, 5 hours 41 minutes for the audio version. I think maggie’s writing style is awesome. I also loved the narrator, she did well narrating the book. I won’t spoil the ending, but I will say that there are many twists and turns throughout the book.

The book is available on audible and from amazon and other book sellers.

Author: Carol anne

I am 40 years young. I'm blind and I have dissociative identity disorder, I also have complex PTSD. I blog about my life with these disorders. I live in Ireland.

6 thoughts on “Book review-A sisters shame, by Maggie Hartley”

  1. Thanks for the review. This sounds like a book I’d like to read, as I’ve read similar ones. Heartbreaking these true stores are, but so glad there are people like the carers that help these children.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me! I love comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.